top of page
Search

Are You Burned-out?

What signs to look for in your life that are a signal of burn out, AKA- Crispy.


What exactly is burnout? Are you a high-achiever? Always running around, always looking to tackle the next task? Burnout is a fancy term for "Im running out of fuel for life or my "Give a F@%! Cup" is running on empty.


What is burnout?


According to an article from Psychology Today (Sherrie Bourg Carter Psy.D.

High Octane Women): Burnout is a state of chronic stress that leads to physical and emotional exhaustion, cynicism, and detachment feelings of ineffectiveness and lack of accomplishment. I have personally experienced this in my personal life and career. If you click on my EBook on the first page of my website I share more of my struggle and story. I got to the point where I could no longer function in my job and day-to-day living. I didnt listen to my body telling me to rest. I actually developed a life threatening illness. To safeguard yourself from here are some tips.


What signs do you need to watch for?

Some tell-tale signs you may experience are chronic fatigue, trouble sleeping, forgetfulness, irritability, isolation, headaches, bodyaches, and stomach aches. At first you may not be able to sleep a few nights a week and progressively individuals report not sleeping at ll. Physical symptoms may include chest pain, heart palpitations, shortness of breath, gastrointestinal pain, dizziness, fainting, and/or headaches (all of which should be medically assessed). There is a chance of Increased illness. According to Carter, because your body is depleted, your immune system becomes weakened, making you more vulnerable to infections, colds, flu, and other immune-related medical problems. You can experience a Loss of appetite. In the early stages, you may not feel hungry and may skip a few meals. In the latter stages, you may lose your appetite altogether and begin to lose a significant amount of weight. This symptoms caused me to develop lactic acidosis and I had to be hospitalized. It was very scary. Others experience Anxiety. Early on, you may experience mild symptoms of tension, worry, and edginess. As you move closer to burnout, the anxiety may become so serious that it interferes with your ability to work productively and may cause problems in your personal life. Additionally, people experience Depression (Carter). In the early stages, you may feel mildly sad and occasionally hopeless, and you may experience feelings of guilt and worthlessness as a result. At its worst, you may feel trapped and severely depressed and think the world would be better off without you. (If your depression is to this point, you should seek professional help immediately.) Anger is another sign. At first, this may present as interpersonal tension and irritability. In the latter stages, this may turn into angry outbursts and serious arguments at home and in the workplace. If anger gets to the point where it turns to thoughts or acts of violence toward family or coworkers, seek immediate professional assistance (Carter). In Summary, If yo are struggling with any of these symptoms reach out to friends, family, and a licensed therapist. Its never to early to get help, it can be more likely to late to get help if you succumb to a serious illness. On a positive note, I was on my death bed and I woke up and realized my habits were creating more chaos in my life. Comment and share you experiences with burnout and remember you are not alone.


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page